General Information about Welshpool
The Town of Welshpool is located 20 miles west of Shrewsbury and is the gateway to Mid Wales. The Town had a registered population in the 2011 census of 6,720
The Town boasts many attributes besides a main line railway station and a good shopping centre and markets. The Town will have a new one way system (January 2011) with a new shopping centre. Also the Town will haS 1500 car spaces so it will be easy to visit this lovely market town. The attractions include one of the largest livestock auction markets in the world, Powis Castle, Welshpool and Llanfair Light Railway, Powysland Museum, the Cock Pit (oldest fighting cock pit building on its original site), Motte Bailey Castle together with many good walks and stunning countryside. There are plenty of places to eat, have a coffee or have a drink. You will always find a warm welcome in Welshpool. A good place to start is the Tourist Information Centre which offers the full service.
The History of Welshpool
1. The Wharf & Aqueduct is an attractive spot for relaxation.
2. The Livestock Market is the largest one-day sheep market in Europe but has now moved out of town.
3. Domen Castle (Motte & Bailey) dates from 1196. The Bailey is now a bowling green.
4. Cambrian Station was built in 1860 and has been extensively renovated to form The Old Station Visitor Centre.
5. During the 19th Century what is now the Powysland Museum & Canal Centre was one of thirty canal warehouses.
6. The Royal Oak only became ‘Royal’ in the 19th Century when Queen Victoria visited Powis Castle.
7. The Old Coach Chambers once provided a major coaching stop & stables.
8. The Pola Cinema was purpose-built in 1938 & its architectural style is typical of the era.
9. The Cockpit is the only cockpit in Wales still in its original position, and was used until 1849 when cockfighting was made illegal.
10. 9 - 11 High Street are timber framed buildings dating from the early 16th century.
11. The Talbot Inn is another example of a 16th century timber framed building.
12. Christ Church was built from Welshpool granite between 1839 and 1844.
13. Raven Square Station was originally located at Eardisley in Herefordshire.
14. Tollgate House was erected to charge users of the road in order to finance its upkeep during the 18th and 19th centuries.
15. The Mermaid Inn is timber framed and has been an inn for at least 200 years but is now closed.
16. The Town Hall was built in 1837 after its predecessor was considered too small and demolished. It now houses a market on Saturday and Monday and a Farmers Market on the first friday of each month.
17. In the 19th century, the warehouse was used as a gunpowder store and munitions factory.
18. St Mary’s Church was founded by the Welsh Saint, Cynfelyn.
19. Grace Evans was reputedly given the cottage by grateful Lord Nithsdale after she smuggled him out of the Tower of London in 1716.
20. The Red Lion Flannel Factory and Warehouse is one of a number of such factories in the town, indicating the importance of this industry during the 19th century.
The Dark Ages
The Middle Ages